My Hydroponics Journey

Finally I am back. Back with something new to share, it is all about hydroponics. For a time I tried my best to do gardening, working with the soil, but then even if I lived in the province with enough soil space to plant, I do not have enough time to do it. Until I came across hydroponics.

Hydroponics, according to Wikipedia, is a subset of hydroculture, which is a method of growing plants without soil by using mineral nutrient solutions in water solvent.

Sounds easy though, but I needed a hands-on training on how it works and what works for me. Last November 30, I completed the Basic Hydroponics Gardening conducted by Mr. Christian “Kian” Castaneda, owner of Organikian Urban Farm. It was interesting how Kian started with hydroponics, so I highly recommend visiting his organic haven in the city of Koronadal.

Just in time for Christmas and New Year, our family enjoyed my first hydroponics box of lettuce. The best part of doing hydroponics is the thought of helping the environment to be sustainable; the boxes used in this type of hydroponics are recycled fruit styroboxes and you grow your own food lessening your carbon foot print.

Currently, I just set-up two new boxes, this time I have lettuce and arugula. Hydroponics is just my first step to having a sustainable life this 2019.

Hydroponically grown lettuce with healthy root system

Leave a comment